77 Ontario Paramedics Recognized for Excellence in Paramedic Services

21 Dec 77 Ontario Paramedics Recognized for Excellence in Paramedic Services

In a ceremony at Queen’s Park held on November 28th, The Honourable Christine Elliott, Deputy Premier of Ontario and Minister of Health and Long-Term Care will recognize 77 Ontario Paramedics whom have provided pre-hospital emergency medical services to the public in an exemplary manner for a minimum of thirty years.

These paramedics will be presented with their first or Second bar for the Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal, which was created in 1994 by the late Governor General Romeo LeBlanc as a component of the Canadian Honours System.  These bars are presented to paramedics who have served for at least thirty years (first bar), or forty years (Second bar) in a meritorious manner, characterized by the highest standards of good conduct, industry and efficiency.  To qualify, at least ten of these years of service must have been street level (or air) duty involving potential risk to the individual.

The 2018 Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal First and Second Bar recipients are:

Brant County Hamilton Region of Niagara
Wayne Buckley – 1st Bar David Donais – 2nd Bar Blaine Bittman – 1st Bar
Kevin Robinson – 1st Bar Hastings-Quinte Northumberland
Mike Silverthorne – 1st Bar Graham Bent – 1st Bar James L. Anderson – 2nd Bar
Mark Smith – 1st Bar Paul Gentile – 1st Bar Ornge
CACC North Bay Roger Litwiller – 1st Bar Dan Duguay – 1st Bar
Raymond Tambeau – 1st Bar John O’Donnell – 2nd Bar Oxford County
Chatham-Kent John Scott – 1st Bar Kim Moore – 1st Bar
Mike Goncalves – 1st Bar Health Sciences North Perth County
Ken Lewis – 1st Bar Martin Pilkington – 1st Bar Harry Vlemmix – 2nd Bar
Kerry Nantais – 1st Bar James Scott – 2nd Bar Rainy River
Dwayne Purdy – 1st Bar Huron County Daniel McCormick – – 1st Bar
James Sinclair – 1st Bar Bill Gaunt  – 1st Bar Simcoe County
Joseph Vancoillie – 1st Bar Gregory Schwindt – 1st Bar Timothy Alexander – 1st Bar
Cornwall Kenora Gerard Desrochers – 2nd Bar
Doug Green – 1st Bar Wade Gagnon – 1st Bar Neil Freeman – 1st Bar
Lee Montford – 1st Bar Manitoulin-Sudbury Gord Laidlaw – 1st Bar
Durham Region Michel Bigras – 2nd Bar Daniel Madill – 1st Bar
Jawaid Sheikh – 1st Bar Bonnie Quackenbush – 1st Bar Sudbury
Dufferin County Middlesex-London Paul Bradley – 1st Bar
Paul dePrinse – 1st Bar Jamie Herrington – 1st Bar Claude Ferguson – 1st Bar
Thomas Reid – 1st Bar Patricia Schelhaas – 1st Bar Luke Leslie – 1st Bar
Robert Savoury – 1st Bar Muskoka Gilles Masse – 1st Bar
Essex-Windsor Daniel Armour – 1st Bar Superior North
Chris Grant – 1st Bar Jerry Barnes – 2nd Bar Brian Schenk – 1st Bar
Denis McFarlane – 1st Bar Juergen Gerich – 1st Bar Toronto
Grey County Robert Goodfellow – 1st Bar Gary McAuley – 1st Bar
Dean Hill – 1st Bar David Gravelle – 1st Bar York Region
Halton Region Stephen Mahon – 1st Bar Linda Bond – 1st Bar
Timothy Bialogrecki – 1st Bar Kenneth McCaskie – 1st Bar Bradley Hickman – 1st Bar
David Biber – 1st Bar Bradley Norrie – 1st Bar Gary Keilhack – 1st Bar
David Extance – 1st Bar Stephen Webb – 1st Bar